Cedric MacLeod

Executive Director

Cedric received his post-secondary agriculture degree from Dalhousie Agricultural Campus and his Masters in Soil Science from the University of Manitoba, with a focus on Canadian prairie agricultural production systems including extension, consulting and research.

Cedric has nearly two decades of entrepreneurial experience as president of MacLeod Agronomics, an agri-environmental consulting firm specializing in the analysis and integration of sustainable agricultural practices for the Canadian ag-sector. He also operates Local Valley Beef, a grass-fed beef ranch in western New Brunswick. 2021 is Cedric’s sixth year as executive director of the CFGA.

How We Operate:

  • Several contractors work on CFGA projects – from ecologists to agrologists to communication professionals

  • The executive director reports to the CFGA board

  • The board is comprised of one representative from each of the member provincial forage councils/organizations, the beef sector, the dairy sector and one from either the sheep or equine sector

  • The board may also have one representative from the U.S. exporters and the overseas exporters

Board of Directors (2020/2021) 

Ray Robertson, Past Chairman – Ontario Forage Council
Chris Martin, Chairman – North American Exporters
Eric Boot, Vice Chairman, Finance Committee Chair – International Exporters
Christine Fulkerth – Alberta Forage Industry Network
Garth Healey – British Columbia Forage Council
Brian Walker – New Brunswick Soil and Crop Association
Annie Claessens – Quebec Forage Council
Shannon McArton – Saskatchewan Forage Council
Gerrit Damsteegt – Dairy Farmers of Canada

CFGA Committees

The CFGA also has several committees that meet regularly to address issues of importance to the forage and grassland sector, including the Producer/User Committee, the Research and Extension Committee and the Environment Committee.

Forage Export and Domestic Development Committee

Domestic and international export members of the CFGA are invited to sit on the Forage Export and Domestic Development Committee. This committee is most active during the planning of trade missions.


Research and Extension Committee (2020/2021)

Tanya Dykens – AAFC-New Brunswick
Bill Houston – AAFC-Saskatchewan
Grant Lastiwka – Alberta Forage Industry Network
Serena Black – British Columbia Forage Council
Cedric MacLeod – CFGA
Glenn Freisen – Manitoba
Maxime Leduc – Quebec
Annie Claasens – Quebec Forage Council
Ray Carmichael – New Brunswick Soil and Crop Improvement Association
Zoshia Frazer – New Brunswick Soil and Crop Improvement Association
Richard Tingskou – Newfoundland
Christine O’Reilly – Ontario
Talon Gauthier – Peace Region 
Les Halliday – Prince Edward Island
Terry Kowalchuk – Saskatchewan
Shannon McArton – Saskatchewan Forage Council

Sign Up for Updates