Forage Marketing

 

Canadian forage and forage products are marketed coast to coast and internationally to support our domestic and export market. Products range from hay, organic hay (in large round bales, small and large squares, compressed), to straw, alfalfa pellets.

As members of the CFGA, our members must complete our Code of Ethics. These are a statement of the values of the CFGA and provides a guide to the decisions we make as businesses and individuals. This Code of Ethics assists us with the responsibilities to the principles of ethical marketing and business practices. Download the CFGA Code of Ethics.

CFGA_Waiver of Liability_Oct_2012

October 18, 2012 — Please protect yourself – Read this article  Hay_Market_Buyers_and_Sellers_Beware

Canada Forage & Grassland Association Hay and Forage Product Exporters that sell into the U.S. and Overseas

Products our Members Produce:

Double Compressed Hay: Our double compressed product is available in 20 kg, 30 kg, 40 kg, 60 kg, 250 kg, and 400 kg bales. These are the bales of choice for our overseas customers who receive them in sea containers. These bales represent the maximum weight in the minimum size.
We have double compressed operations in Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan , Alberta and British Columbia.

 

Dehydrated Products: Our dehydrated products include pellets and cubes. Cubes and pellets are
available in 12, 25 and 40 kg bags, 500 kg totes and bulk.
Our premium product is produced and packaged in Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Quebec.
Cubes and pellets are used domestically and also shipped to the U.S. and Asia.

 

Long Fibre Bales: Our long fibre bales are available in several sizes to suit shipping and the needs of our clients.

We offer small square bales    (14 & 18” bales), and medium to large bales; 3 feet by 3 feet (1 meter by 1 meter), 3 feet by 4 feet and 4 feet by 4 feet. Squares are convenient for shipping economically via road.

We also produce 2 tie (14” & 16” ) bales and 3 tie bales (55 kg) for our highest demanding equine customers in the U.S.,

U.K. and Middle East. Our producers use either twine, net or plastic wraps for the round bales.As well, we export round and large square straw bales.  All of our producers provide nutritional analysis from an accredited agency upon request.

View our CFGA Leaflet for Importers (English)

View our CFGA Leaflet for Importers (Mandarin)

  See the chart below or to see the commodities each person sells, download the
CFGA_2013_July 29_Exporter_commodity-list

 

Canadian Forage & Grassland Association Hay/Forage Product Exporters
Company First Name Last Name Address City Province, Code Phone E-mail
Alberta Gold Seal Forage Corp. Jim Husing RR 3 Innisfail Alberta T4G 1T8 (403) 227-5040 agsfc@telus.net
Barr-AG Ltd. Barry Schmitt 5837 Imperial Drie Olds Alberta T4H 1G6 (403) 507-8660 bschmitt@barr-ag.com
Blood Tribe Forage Processing Cyrus Weasel Fat PO Box 90 Standoff Alberta, T0L 1Y0 (403) 635-0938 cyrus@btfp.ca
Chapman Bros. Farms. Darren Chapman Box 490 Virden Manitoba R0M 2C0 (204) 851-0164 dlfarms@mts.net
Elcan Forage Inc Greg Sommerfeld Box 55 Broderick Saskatchewan S0H 0L0 (306) 867-8080 elcan@xplornet.com
Enterprises Macay Inc. Marc  Lavoie Box 1295 St.Isidore AB T0H 3B0 (780) 624-2850 marc@macay.net
Mike Faulkner RR 3 Rockwood Ontario N0B 2K0 (519) 856-0779 m.j.faulkner@live.ca
Glenisle Farms James Glen 1296 McGregor Bay Rod. Keene Ontario K9L 2G0 (705) 295-4489 glenisle@nexicom.net
Green Prairie International Peter Ball RR8, Site 30 Comp 11 Lethbridge Alberta T1J 4P4 (403) 327-9941 peter.ball@greenprairie.com
Haybec Alexandre  Beaulieu 155 St-Jean-Baptiste Le Bic Quebec G0L 1B0 (418) 551-9834 ab.beaulieu@haybec.com
Healey Hay and Strawdust Supply Garth Healey 4304 Dixon Road Abbotsford British Columbia V3G 0CT Cell (778) 808-9920 garth@bcstrawdustsales.com
International Quality Forage & Feed Inc. Ed Shaw Box 970 Carstairs Alberta, T0M 0N0 (204) 851-0164 ed@iqforage.com
Jan-Star Farms Mike Henry 017209 Grey Bruce Line Tara Ontario N0H 2N0 (519) 934-2023 janstarfarm@hotmail.com
Kletke Farms Chris Kletke Box 111,  Brunkild Manitoba R0G 0E0 (204) 746-0462 chris@kletke.ca
Marhaven Agri Inc. Chris Martin 7715 Wellington Road 8 Alma Ontario N0B 1A0 (519) 638-3423 chris@marhavenagri.ca
Sigurdson Farms Barrie Sigurdson Box 220 Gimli Manitoba R0C 1B0 (204) 642-5625 sigfarm@mymts.net
Southman Alfalfa Phil or Landon Friesen Box 292 Crystal City Manitoba R0K 0N0 (204) 825-7760 phil@haysource.ca
Teleglow Farms Nick & Gale Teleglow Box 2 Ste. Anne MB RSH 1R2 (204) 422-8123 ngteleglow@yahoo.com
Top Hay Agri Industries Judd Wu PO Box 923 3427 Carmen Hill Rd West Vanderhoof BC V0J 3A0 (250) 524-2888 judd@tophay.ca
West Gro Seeds Service Ltd. Scott Peters Box 1060 Boissevain Manitoba R0K 0C0 (204) 534-6692 scott@westgro.ca
Wilbur-Ellis Company Russ Mellow RR 8-2-9 Lethbridge Alberta T1J 4P4 Cell (403) 634-7641 rmellow@wilburellis.com
Jake Heppner Box 2128 Altona Manitoba R0G 0B0 (204) 324-1240 jeheppner@xplornet.com
Garry Johnson RR 3 Owen Sound Ontario  N4K 5N5 (519 371-5247 joyngarry@gmail.com
Andre Larocque 3385 Larocque Rd. Glen Robertson Ontario K0B 1H0 (613)  874-2115 larocque.andre@gmail.com
Harold McCutcheon 22319 Purple Hill Road RR#3 Thorndale Ontario, N0M2P0 (519) 668-9979 haroldmccutcheon@hotmail.com
Don Rowntree 12921 Five Sideroad Georgetown Ontario L7G 4S5 (416) 464-2373 donrowntree@hotmail.com

If you are interested in purchasing or selling hay in one of these Canadian provinces please go to the following links.

Saskatchewan Hay Listings

Manitoba Hay Listings

Manitoba Forage Marketers

Ontario Hay Listings

Alberta Hay Listings

Quebec Hay Listings

Thank you to our Sponsors!

Supporters

Dairy Farmers of Canada

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, and the AgriMarketing Program

Platinum Partners

New Holland

leBulletin des agriculteurs

Canadian Cattlemen

Country Guide

Silver Partners

Nutritional Feed Additives Inc.
Distributors COAST to COAST of Hay Preservatives
Harvest Tec
Equipment and Products for Quality Hay

PICKSEED Canada Inc.

Mapleseed

 

Contact Us

Please drop us a line or give us a call.

Canadian Forage & Grassland Association
Ron Pidskalny, CFGA Executive Director
11312 – 57 Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB
T6H 0Z9
E-mail
Ph: (780) 430-3020